News Search

  • Officials announce Air Force safety awards

     Air Force safety officials announced the winners of the 2005 safety awards. They are: -- Colombian Trophy: 4th Special Operations Squadron at Hurlburt Field, Fla. -- Air Force Chief of Safety Outstanding Achievement Award for Ground Safety: Category I, Ogden Air Logistics Center at Hill AFB, Utah; Category II, 48th Fighter Wing at Royal Air Force
  • Moody helicopter maintenance team wins AF level award

    The Air Force has announced the winners of the 2005 Exceptional Innovator Award (AFEIA) and Air Force Productivity Excellence Award (AFPEA). Air Force Special Operations Command is proud of the HH-60G phase dock, 347th Rescue Wing, Moody AFB, Ga. for being one of only seven groups and one individual to earn these awards Air Force wide. The HH-60G
  • Learning early: First-term Airmen learn security forces skills

    Airmen fresh out of basic training and technical school are now receiving a security forces introduction here in line with new Air Force security forces training initiatives. The 347th Security Forces Squadron recently introduced a five-day augmentee course for recent graduates of the Moody’s First Term Airman Center. The 347th Rescue Wing
  • AFSOC announces 2005 communications and information awards

    Air Force Special Operations Command. is pleased to announce the 2005 communications and information award winners. Lieutenant General Harold W. Grant Award – 353rd Operations Support Squadron, Kadena Air Base, Japan Outstanding Field Grade Officer - Major Monti Knode, 16th Communications Squadron, Hurlburt Field, Fla. Outstanding Company Grade
  • Base engineers interact with Shalimar students

    Hurlburt Field Airmen visited Meigs Middle School in Shalimar to give their expertise to the engineering contest held last week as part of National Engineers Week. Nine engineers from base, members of the Society of American Military Engineers, gave presentations to the class about engineering and judged the contest. “The program gives the students
  • Air Force welcomes arrival of first combat-configured CV-22 Osprey

    Air Force leadership accepted the keys for the first combat-configured CV-22 Osprey from Bell Boeing Wednesday in a ceremony at the Bell manufacturing facility in Amarillo, Texas. While earlier versions of the CV-22 tiltrotor aircraft are in use as test assets, this is the first of the "Block B/10" aircraft, representing the configuration that the
  • AFSOC announces civil/human rights award winner

    Air Force Special Operations Command is proud to announce Tech. Sgt. Antonio Garcia, 21st Special Operations Squadron, RAF Mildenhall, England, as the AFSOC nominee for the 2006 National Image, Inc. Meritorious Service Award. This award recognizes a military member who has distinguished himself or herself by promoting the tenets of civil/human
  • AFSOC announces spouse of the year

    Air Force Special Operations Command is proud to announce Mrs. Cynthia A. Maling as the 2006 nominee for the Joan Orr Air Force Spouse of the Year Award. Mrs. Maling is the wife of Tech. Sgt. Nathaniel D. Maling, assigned to the 4th Special Operations Squadron here. Mrs. Maling has distinguished herself as an outstanding volunteer and key
  • AFSOC Verne Orr award recipient named

    Air Force Special Operations Command is proud toI announce the 23rd Special Tactics Squadron, Hurlburt Field, as the AFSOC nominee for the 2006 Verne Orr Award. This award is presented annually by the Air Force Association and recognizes an Air Force unit which makes the most effective use of its human resources. The 23rd STS's exceptional use of
  • AFSOC Vanguard award recipient named

    Air Force Special Operations Command is proud to announce Tech. Sgt. Jason M. Bloom, 16th Special Operations Squadron, Hurlburt Field, as the AFSOC nominee for the 2006 Noncommissioned Officer Association Vanguard Award. This award is sponsored annually by the NCOA to recognize an enlisted member who has performed a heroic act, on or off duty,