An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USSOCOM inducts former Air Commandos into Commando Hall of Honor

  • Published
  • By 1st Lt. Rachelle Smith
  • Air Force Special Operations Command Public Affairs
Two former Air Commandos were inducted into the U.S. Special Operations Command’s Commando Hall of Honor April 6, 2015, at MacDill Air Force Base, Fla.

Retired Maj. Gen. James L. Hobson, Jr. and retired Col. James H. Kyle joined seven other inductees honored by Army Gen. Joseph L. Votel, SOCOM commander.

“These men embody the skills, value, spirit and courage of the special operations warrior,” said Votel. “Today is about honoring these men and their sacrifice to the nation they love, to honor their sacrifice, and to honor their families who stood by their side.”

Hobson was the Air Force Special Operations Command commander from 1994 to 1997. While on active duty, he held command of groups and wings, both stateside and overseas. His other command positions included serving as 39th Special Operations Wing commander, at Eglin AFB, and as 23rd Air Force vice wing commander at Hurlburt Field. He was also won the 1989 Mackay trophy for his meritorious flight during Operation Urgent Fury over the island of Grenada.

Kyle was a noted operator in the planning and execution of Operation Rice Bowl, the rescue effort of American hostages from Iran in 1980. Although the operation was attempted, and was not successful, it led to the genesis of SOCOM. Kyle authored a book on that mission, then he taught 10 years as a guest lecturer at the U.S. Air Force Special Operations School here. His career spanned 30 years -- 20 years of it operating in or leading an elite group of commandos.

More than 120 people from the special operations community gathered to honor the nine individuals whose service spanned 70 years from World War II to Operation Enduring Freedom. They watched as each of the former special operators or their surviving family member received a medal.

The other inductees include:

- Army 1st. Lt. Jack L. Knight (Killed in Action in World War II)

- Retired Army Command Sgt. Maj. Richard C. Lamb

- Retired Marine Corps Lt. Col. Terrence L. Moore

- Retired Marine Corps Col. John W. Ripley

- Retired Army Col. Phillip R. Stewart

- Retired Army Col. Lynn B. Stull

- Retired Army Chief Warrant Officer 4 Paul A. Zeisman